SENIOR GOLFERS SOCIETY OF GAUTENG NORTH

Report of the President at the 16th Annual General Meeting held on 24 APRIL 2024 at the Pretoria Country Club

It is a privilege to present my report for the Society's 16th Annual General Meeting.

The year under review has been a successful one for our Society, one of the highlights being the successful SGUSA National Tournament held in Pretoria during May 2023.

Membership

We currently have 73 Active Members and 2 non-playing members. Our Mancom quota allows us to increase membership to 92 but your Committee has decided that a membership approximating 80 is an appropriate target for the Society. New members last year merely replaced those that left so, in the coming year, focus will need to move to bringing in new and up and coming members.

During 2023 we inducted five new members - Sakkie Burger, Harold Lombard, Alan Hargroves, Nicol Labuschangne and Wynand du Plessis - but these additions were offset by seven resignations from Andre Kotze, Sakkie Perold, Chris Roberts, Johan Struwig, Johan Botha, Thys De Beer and Henk Prinsloo.

Playing Statistics and golf events

In 2023 we had 22 golf matches (with 1 at PCC rained out), including two Across the Border matches against our friends the Senior Golfers Society of Gauteng. In total 747 member rounds were played at an average participation rate of 44%, compared to 45% in 2022. Low rates of participation remain a concern and the Committee urges members to help move participation towards our target of 60%.

In addition we participated in a quadrangular match in Parys with Senior Societies from Free State, Gauteng and Norther Cape, which was won by Gauteng North.

In May 2023 we hosted the 82nd National Tournament in Pretoria for the first time with 212 players from 10 Societies participating. Gauteng North fielded a team of 36 players and again won the Society Trophy. Congratulations to our members who won the Team Event and those team and individual winners listed below who succeeded in adding to our honours list.

Feedback on the Tournament from most quarters was favourable and Gauteng North can be proud of the event presented. Our thanks go to the Organising Committee, our members who played and the non-playing volunteers that gave up of their time to make sure that everything ran smoothly.

Grateful thanks also to the sponsors that contributed, particularly the main sponsor Momentum, introduced to the Tournament by Hillie Meyer. Also special thanks to the management of the two clubs that gave their courses to us for the week, Pretoria Country Club and Waterkloof Golf Club.

This year we're sending a team of 16 players to the 83rd Nationals in Durban and wish our players good luck, good golf and lots of enjoyment.

Championship and Annual Dinner

We had a tremendous turnout of 56 players (52 in 2022) for our Championship match at PCC on 25th October, 2023 which was followed by a lunch and prize giving at the Italian club on 5th November.

The champion golfer for the year was Wim Fourie with a gross score of 76.

The winner of the individual Stableford competition was Bill McKechnie (42 points), second place went to Wim Fourie, also with 42 points who lost on a count out.

Congratulations to those who won prizes.

Host Clubs

Our sincere thanks go to our home club, the Pretoria Country Club for hosting so many of our golf events during the year as well as the other clubs - Woodhill, Waterkloof, Wingate Park, Silverlakes, The Els Club, Centurion, Irene, Blue Valley and Services - that hosted us through the year.

Financials

The financial situation of the society is sound and well under control, thanks to Hennie Uys. An increase in annual subscriptions was approved by the Committee for 2023. It is still good value for money!

We're grateful to Hennie who has loyally and professionally performed the duty of Treasurer since 2019.

Wynand du Plessis took over as Treasurer at the beginning of this year.

Administrative Secretary

Petra Ackermann deserves recognition and thanks for her efficiency in organising golf matches and events during her seven-year tenure as Admin Secretary. Petra concluded her service at the beginning of this year, with an additional two months of assistance in 2024. We express gratitude for her contributions to our Society.

Committee

I would like to express my sincere thanks to every member of our Committee - Bill McKechnie, Hennie Uys, Ronald Wainwright, Andries du Plooy and Wessel Theron. Everyone has given willingly of their time and expertise and has made the work of the Committee rewarding and effective.

We are grateful to Wynand who has taken over as Treasurer and to Graham Erasmus who agreed to take over as Administrative Secretary from Petra Ackerman.

Thanks also to Ronald Wainwright who is relinquishing his position as Secretary to the Society but will remain an ad hoc Committee member.

In particular our gratitude and thanks to Bill for taking over the organising and convening of our Nationals Tournament Committee, at a late stage and with great success.

President's Report 2024

Your new office bearers for 2024 are:

President: Bill McKechnie Captain: Andries du Plooy Treasurer: Wynand du Plessis

Secretary: Graham Erasmus

Additional Members:

Ronal Wainwright

Wessel Theron

It has been a great privilege and an honour to serve as your President. Thanks to all our members for their support during the last year.

Jamie Paola

Jamie Paola

President

82nd NATIONAL TOURNAMENT WINNERS FROM GAUTENG NORTH

Society Trophy winners Gauteng North

Society Team Competition Winners

Wim Fourie, Piet Botha, Paul van Rooyen and Graham Erasmus

Individual Stableford Runner Up – Corné Kruger

Class A (64 and under) Nett Stableford Runner Up – Freek Kruger

Class B (65 to 68) Nett Stableford Runner Up – Wim Fourie

Class C (65 to 68) Gross Stableford winner – Dirk Swanevelder

Class C (69 to 71) Nett Stableford winner – Paul van Rooyen

Class C (69 to 71) Gross Stableford winner – Derek Ackermann

Class D (72 to 74) Nett Stableford winner – Piet Botha

Best 18 Hole Score for Day 1 - Jan van der Merwe

Best 18 Hole Score for Day 2 - Peter Brauer

Pinehurst Winner PCC – Jan van der Merwe and Gerhard van der Linde

Pinehurst runner Up Waterkloof – Andries du Plooy and Sydney Mpipi